Reltio Connect

 View Only

Reltio Workflow Process: Deletes & Data Change Requests

By Daniel Gage posted 02-23-2022 15:09

  

Reltio Master Data Management is always on the lookout to add useful components to our product. Thus, we will add new products that help our customers use their data management system in the best possible way. We have done this in the past with Reltio Connected Data for Snowflake and the Reltio Integration Hub. Now, we do so again with the Reltio Workflow.

In a recent article, we defined the Reltio Workflow as an orchestrated and repeatable pattern of activity. We also learned what standards we leverage through this product, and what processes are available within Workflow. We also talked about receiving notifications through email and in-dashboard alerts, so that your tasks are delivered to you whenever they are assigned. 

In Part II of this article series, we continue our look into the Reltio Workflow process. We’ll discuss some final thoughts of the Reltio Inbox, and go into other out-of-the-box workflows now available within Reltio.

More on the Reltio Inbox

We’ve already talked about how Reltio Workflow email notifications work, and how to set up your Reltio Inbox within your dashboard. But, there are a few more things that are worthwhile to point out.

Namely, this Inbox is touch-sensitive and mobile-friendly. So, you will be able to view it and work easily from any screen, no matter the size. In addition, you will be able to see what kind of task has been assigned to you, whether it’s a match review, a merger view, a delete request, etc. Reltio Inbox allows you to view these, and gives you the option to reassign the task to another individual. Finally, you will also be able to filter these tasks, which allows you to customize your view and keep a tidy virtual workspace.

Reltio Inbox is touch-sensitive and mobile-friendly

Reltio is using the Inbox (and the entire Workflow process) to focus on productivity. By giving your users a significant number of tasks and the ability to filter and/or reassign groups, individual organizational workflows are easily customizable in a variety of ways. One way to do this is the ability to define task variables within your workflow. In other words, wherever you see a need to customize or segment your workflow tasks, based on your own business needs, you will be able to define task variables in your workflow. Then, the users that receive task assignments are able to filter and sort their own tasks.

Note: The system will automatically alert users when a task is overdue. If your organization would like to send push notifications to users when tasks are not done, that is a feature that can be configured. As a part of the BPEL standard that Reltio supports, you can also set timeouts, auto-rejects, auto-approvals, re-notifications, and more through Workflow extensions.

Recommend for Delete

The first process in this infrastructure that we’d like to drill down on is the simplest. In the upper right hand corner of the Workflow tab, you will notice a dropdown list. Here, you can select from any workflow available to you as a user.

Starting a recommendation for delete will use a role-based assignment to notify someone to approve the workflow. This is a one-step approval. If the individual who acts on this workflow task cancels it or rejects it, no action will occur and the workflow will be terminated. But, if they accept the delete request, a delta service will begin.

Starting a recommendation for delete will use a role-based assignment to notify someone to approve the workflow.

You’ll notice that there are two steps within a recommendation for delete. One is a delete review and the other is a delete service. The delete review is a human interaction step and the delete service is a service task. The service task invokes a programmatic object to perform a functionality. 

Again, when it comes to out-of-the-box workflow tasks, Reltio has pre-delivered the task functionalities to do deletes, merges, and more. And, its recommendation for delete feature is a soft delete. But, if you need a more robust delete, to be in line with GDPR or California Consumer Protection Act, Reltio can be configured to support this too.

GDPR/CCPA Compliant Deletes

The standard Reltio delete only marks the record as deleted and hides it from the user. The record will still be persisted within the infrastructure and within activity logs.

This isn’t enough for GDPR or CCPA. But, never fear; Reltio is compliant with these standards as well. When you perform a GDPR delete within Reltio, Reltio will purge the record entirely from our data stores and activity logs. For customers, it’s important that GDPR deletes cascade from Reltio to other systems that store the same information.

So, you will be able to customize and extend the out-of-the-box delete review processes to add additional steps that interact with other systems and notify additional users of the need to purge a customer’s data from all systems. 

Note: For a GDPR or CCPA delete, you may need to unmerge the crosswalk of a consolidated record first before applying the delete request on a single individual. Unmerging, in general, is not an out-of-the-box feature in Workflow, but could be configured. It is not provided out-of-the-box as we have found that this functionality is very different according to individual organizations.

Data Change Request

When working within Reltio, depending on your role-based access control, you have the ability to directly edit and change a profile and/or relationship. But, according to your individual organization's needs, you may wish to change to a review process. In this case, all you need to do is choose to make the change in “suggesting mode”. Within suggesting mode, the data change is suggested, and sent for review and approval. 

Within suggesting mode, the data change is suggested, and sent for review and approval.

The data change will take whatever proposed change the user has made, hold it in a pending state, and apply it when the workflow is completed. Only when the process has been completed and approved will the change occur. This data change request process works for any attribute within your data model. In other words, whether it's a standard attribute, a nested attribute, relationship, or other attribute, the data change process is dynamic and based on your Reltio metadata. Therefore, it gives you the ability to review and govern those changes.

The data change request process works for any attribute within your data model

It also allows users to make multiple changes in a single data change request. This way, all data changes can be held together. For example, if you need to add attributes to a record, the business user tasked with reviewing the workflow will be able to individually select, reject, or approve individual lines and changes within the same data change request.

The business user tasked with reviewing the workflow will be able to individually select, reject, or approve individual lines and changes within the same data change request.

This is another way that we have added an option for you to increase your productivity. By having the option to reject or approve only select points of a data change request value, time and money is saved.


Note: Not every user has this ability. Your organization will be in control of who can make the most extensive changes to the Workflow process. Also, Reltio Workflow only works with users within your organization. In other words, you will not be able to reach out to customers through Reltio and ask for information.


In our next article, we will get into the much anticipated match review process, and how it works within the Reltio Workflow. We will also walk you through a live demonstration of the product. 

Check out the Reltio Workflow Community Show for an in-depth view of how to use Reltio Workflows:


#ConsoleWorkflow
#workflow
#Featured
0 comments
7889 views

Permalink